Cherry Blossom 10 Miler & Drinking.


I mentioned earlier that my little brother would be in town this weekend. He stayed with me Friday night with 3 of his friends from college. I made a nice big dinner then we went out! For dinner I did chicken breasts seasoned with a tuscany spice blend. I started the chicken out on the stove and cooked it over medium high heat for 4 minutes a side. I then put 3/4 of a jar of garden blend pasta sauce in the pan and sprinkled mozzarella cheese (2% milk) on top. I took the entire pan (uncovered) and placed it in the oven at 450 for 20 minutes. I served every family style with pasta plus and some extra sauce!


Dinner party!! NOM!

In addition to making this super quick dinner to feed the masses on Friday I decided to run in the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler on Sunday. I made this decision on oh beer #3? Attempting to not be totally shamed by my brother and his friends drinking I may have end up drinking a wee bit too much. Enough that I was not able to keep food down until about 1pm the day… Awesome? Well seeing as I didn’t drink for 2 weeks before the Reston 10 Miler I didn’t have big hopes for the race today. Armed with my new Garmin I did as follows:

Cherry Blossom 10 Miler 4.1.12

Time: 1:28:33

Finished: 2322 (of 9701 women)

Splits: ‎8:55, 8:55, 8:49, 8:50, 8:43, 8:56, 8:50, 8:43, 8:32, 8:24 

Not too shabby! My Garmin logged the race in at 10.11 miles. This race was a monster improvement from the Reston race. I am so pumped I was able to keep it under 9 the entire time. My last mile for Reston was an 8:07 but I just did not have the energy to move any faster than I was already going today. Plus the run ended on an incline which is always a treat : ) I used Energy Gel for the first time in this race also. For Reston I hit a monster wall from miles 6-8 so I started with the gel at mile 5 and finished it off at about 6 1/2. I wanted to go slow for in case my stomach reacted do poorly, it didn’t turn out to be an issue though thankfully. So I am now a believer that you can indeed drink 48 hours prior to running a race and not die, you may even PR! I also got my first medal!

I bought a bib off someone on Friday which is why mine says Katy. I will sharpie in my own name because I plan on keeping all the bibs I collect and doing something with them! Just couldn’t before the race because swapping is frowned upon.

Multi purpose shot.

Having the watch was such a huge help. I tried to keep myself around 9 at the start of the race but found myself wanting to push harder still so after mile 7 I sped up for the remainder of the race. Still had some decent energy at the end so I’m feeling way better about the half marathon in June. I will definitely be able to to get through it with out dying, now the Tough Mudder in May… That’s a whole other beast. – On a last note about the race I would like to say that the award for the best station at the event goes to the nice gentlemen who set up on a picnic table around mile 6 with free beer and oreos – way to be awesome.

Finally as a last bit of good news – I have plateaued in my whole weight loss journey for a few months. I feel great and clothes are looser but it’s still fun to see the scale go down. I weighed myself today and I’ve lost 3 pounds! So I’m very happy about that. Not that I need to hit a number to be happy but I have in mind what I would like to get to and I’m only 8 pounds away. That brings my total weight loss in the last year to 15 pounds! I’m completely content with the slow weight loss though because I am not dieting, I actually never want to be on a diet again. I’m just making smarter choices and running all the time definitely helps also : )

Hope every one had an awesome weekend as well! 

Categories: Food, Half Marathon Training, Running, Tough Mudder Progress

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

13 replies

  1. I love so much about this post! Your dinner party looks like a blast, time with family is the best. Your 10 miler was awesome, you rocked it!! Garmins are like gold with races when the time on the race clock is different due to any delays. Your weight loss is also awesome, not just the pounds lost but the way you lost them..slow and steady!! YOU’RE AWESOME. Big time. Oh and you’re speedy too!

  2. I’m totally going to have to try out that chicken – it looks awesome!

Trackbacks

  1. Super Model | Food & Fitness
  2. Exhausted | Food & Fitness
  3. Half Marathon Recap | Food & Fitness
  4. How to shake the sleepys | Food & Fitness
  5. Another Half Marathon?? | Food & Fitness
  6. One Year Blogaversary – Part I « Food & Fitness
  7. Recipes On My Radar « Food & Fitness
  8. A Full Plate « Food & Fitness
  9. Detox « Food & Fitness
  10. Sasha, Seattle, Running, and Racing « Food & Fitness

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

