Running Addiction & Yummy Cookies


I still can’t believe that a few years ago running a mile seemed daunting. I just completed a 10 mile run with a friend and it felt great. Not only that but the Reston 10 miler was just on Sunday and it’s Tuesday!! That’s 20 miles in 3 days! Crazyness! I actually shaved off a minute from my time on Sunday which is very exciting! I’m going to try and find a good yoga video on demand tomorrow to stretch out. I’m planning on doing another 10 miles on either Friday or Saturday. Depending of course what the doctor says about my eyes. Friendly and awesome reminder… I’m getting LASIK on Thursday!! I’m jumping out of my skin with excitement.  My consult appointment is tomorrow afternoon and I can’t wait to get going on this whole process.

In food news I made rice paper avocado rolls and oatmeal peanut butter cookies yesterday! I am home visiting my parents so I get to use their fabulous kitchen and work side by side with my dad! Who is an excellent cook! He does a bit more traditional meals than I do but it is fantastic and I learned all the basics from him! To see how to make the rice paper rolls check out the recipe I put up earlier this year!100_0297

Chopping Cucumbers100_0298

Dad cutting up vegetables for roasted veggies and pork!100_0299

Avocado chopping100_0302

And voila! My mom on the other hand is the baker! It wouldn’t be fair for me to keep her magic ways all to myself so here is one of my favorite cookies she makes: Oatmeal and Peanut Butter Cookies.100_0304100_0303100_0305

Ingredients:

1 cup margarine
1 cup peanut butter
1 cup sugar (we did truvia which is 1/3 cup & 1 1/2 tbsp)
1 cup brown sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
2 cup flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
3 cups oatmeal

Cream the 1st 6 ingredients. Mix dry ingredients and slowly add them to the mixer. Drop rounded spoon fulls of mix onto un-greased cookie sheets. Criss-cross with a fork. Bake at 375 degrees for 9 minutes, rotate pans if using more than one. Immediately remove from cookie sheets. Make 6-7 dozen.

Notes: For people who like to make double batches beware! For a standard kitchen aid a double batch is too big for the mixer! Also we are an awesome family and eat all of our cookies frozen. Yes we bake cookies and wait to eat them until they have been in the freezer for a few hours : ) As frozen they are great! Room temperature I think the flour could be scaled back a bit. Also this is one of the best tasting batters in the world! So while we all know consuming raw eggs isn’t ideal I would go for it any ways!

Categories: Food, Running

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 replies

  1. I’m glad to hear that just a year ago you we’re sweatin’ a mile… because right now I don’t think I could ever run 10 miles but you have inspired me! Good luck on the LASIK!

  2. Nice job shaving a minute off your automatic PB on Sunday! I don’t bake much, because I end up eating everything I make myself. No willpower! The avocado things look nice though, but I’m an avocado junkie. They’re not very accommodating things to chop up though.

    • Practice makes perfect! Don’t let it beat you : ) And thank you very much about the running. If it makes you feel any better I ONLY bake when I am at my parents because I end up eating a few and when it’s time for me to go back to DC the cookies stay in NY with them!

Trackbacks

  1. One Year Blogaversary – Part I « Food & Fitness

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

