Reston 10 Miler 3.4.12


First race done!

Time: 1:32:57 

Finished 162 (of 399) 

Splits: 9:22, 8:55, 9:16, 9:22, 8:45, 8:55, 9:41, 9:38, 9:14, 8:07

This hilly monster is done! I’m so very excited. Miles 1-6 were good, took a bit for the pack to thin out though. Miles 6-8 were a bit rough, they did not show the 7 mile marker! Total mind fu**. We did not appreciate that at all… By mile 8 things were feeling good and I pulled away from my running partner to finish out the last 2 miles. I was THRILLED to have some one to run with for the first 8, I think I would have been bored silly other wise. As soon as I they post up my picture crossing the finish line I will put that bad boy up! I’m pretty excited to see myself in a running bib. I’ve always thought they looked so bad ass and never thought in my wildest dreams I’d end up running in a race. (High school track asking me to do a half mile for a warm up was too much in my opinion back then).

I’m actually planning on running 10 miles on Tuesday with a friend who is a crazy fast runner and does ultra marathons and yada yada. So let’s pray that my knees and legs are up for it. This past week has been great for work outs / running.

24 miles! Woo! Pretty proud / excited about that. That is 100% a personal record of mine.

In other news.. I drove 330 miles north today shortly after the race. Along with my heart breaking as a I saw the temp reading drop 20 degrees (F) my legs were screaming at me. I did stretch prior to driving but my knee has been a hot mess since a feisty soccer player demolished it last winter season. I’m not looking forward to running here for the week because its so very cold but I am going shopping tomorrow for some new gear and I’m psyched! I have no gym this week to use so the game plan is to come up with some great body weight circuits to share. Hope every one else had a great Sunday! Stay tuned to see the AWESOME picture of myself hauling ass at the finish line – I am a sprinter at heart, this distance thing has just become an acquired taste : )

-m

Categories: Running

Tags: , , , ,

8 replies

  1. Awesome job. Congrats on your first race!

Trackbacks

  1. Cherry Blossom 10 Miler & Drinking. | Food & Fitness
  2. How to shake the sleepys | Food & Fitness
  3. Another Half Marathon?? | Food & Fitness
  4. One Year Blogaversary – Part I « Food & Fitness
  5. How To Fake It Until You Make It.
  6. Sasha, Seattle, Running, and Racing « Food & Fitness

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

