8 Mile Madness & Pretty Parfaits


So Sunday brought about good sunshine, a bit chilly, but sunshine none the less. I set out on my first attempt at 8 miles. The ten miler is this Sunday so I figured it was about time : ) Well I finished in 66 minutes! I was quite excited about the whole thing. I then proceeded to play soccer for an hour outside and clean my apartment for 2 hours. Needless to say I feel like I have the knees of an 80 year old women. Other running news – I have joined the website meetup.com and joined some running groups! So now I will be able to meet some people when I am travelling for work which I’m pretty jazzed about!

Now for the good stuff. 2 great food ideas, prepare to be blown.

Burrito Bowl Omelet:

I went to this great burrito place on Saturday and got a burrito bowl. It was just beans, chicken, veggies and some homemade hot sauce. Well I didn’t finish the whole thing and was at a loss what to do with it. And brilliance swept over me and this bad boy came to life. I heated up the left overs in the microwave. In a small pan I added a half of a cup of egg whites. I flipped it once and then added in the goodies and folded it over. I served it with some avocado to enjoy with the omelet! This was awesome. Hands down the best way to repurpose a burrito / bowl / whatever. I actually read in a magazine about doing this with left over pizza. So scrapping off the toppings and adding them to an omelet. I hope some one gives this a try so they can understand why I am so excited : )

 

In between running and soccer I needed a snack so this baby was born!

Pretty Parfait:

Ingredients:

Oatmeal:
1/3 Cups Old-Fashioned Oats
3/4 Cup Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk
1 tbsp no cal sweetener
1/8 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp vanilla extract
Dash of salt

Pafait:
Your favorite fruit
Your favorite fat free yogurt

To start: combine all ingredients for oatmeal in a non stick pop. Add 1/2 cup water and mix well.

Bring to a boil, and then reduce to a simmer. Cook for about 10 minutes, until some what thick and creamy. Transfer to a bowl / tupperware and stash in the fridge for at least 1 1/2 hours.

Tick tock… Once the oatmeal is set mix well. Get out the fruit and yogurt you plan on using.

Layer the oatmeal, yogurt and fruit. You should be able to do 6 layers if you get a big enough glass!

Mine doesn’t look super pretty unfortunately  : ( the glass I got was too small and my photography skills apparently stink.. But it tasted really yummy!!

I actually made a double recipe of the oatmeal and brought it to work on Monday. I switched it up and just threw blackberries on top! I kept the oatmeal in the container I chilled it in. So while its not as pretty is tasted just as good!

And finally. I also made spaghetti squash for the first time! I’m in love. I took one picture…

 I seriously think its the coolest looking thing ever. I made an onion, mushroom and garlic marinara sauce for it but I preferred it plain!

Well that was an epic-ly long post. If you made it to the end I appreciate it : )

Todays game plan: Lift after work, 3 mile run with friend, playoff game for soccer. I figure this is the last really great work out day I should get in prior to the race Sunday.

**Fun fact about today… In 1996 I got my first pair of glasses. Somewhere around 2002 I got my first pair of contacts. As of midnight tonight the contacts come out, glasses go on until next Thursday, and a fancy dr with a laser will give me purrfect vision again!!

EPIC!!!

Categories: Food, Running, Workouts

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

1 reply

Trackbacks

  1. One Year Blogaversary – Part I « Food & Fitness

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

