Just a girl, with no cooking supplies


It’s rest day! My body is feeling pretty beat up right now. I actually slept pretty terrible last night because every time I woke up my body was crazy tight and achey. I was pretty surprised because I always stretch too! But any who, today is a rest day and I am slightly thankful of it.

The title of this post is because when I travel I either stay in an apartment that my company has or a hotel. Well I’m here for four days and in the apartment. Which means I have an oven, a microwave, a fridge and tin foil. Thats right, no pots, pans, cooking utensils, salt, pepper or anything. It’s quite pathetic really.

I am lucky enough to have a Whole Foods just under a mile away so I walked over there and got supplies that will last me another 2 days! What I came up with is as follows!

Breakfast: 365 Protein & Fiber and Coconut Milk

Snacks: Apple or Mango

Lunch: Flax multigrain bread with no salt added turkey, jarlsberg lite cheese, pickle slices and dijon mustard. With a side of the same salad as dinner.

Dinner: Baked salmon, mixed field greens & alfalfa sprouts with FF balsamic and mediterranean couscous. I bought two different seasoned versions of salmon so my dinners are a little bit different.

Not too shabby! While I have the dollars to buy whatever I want through out the day for food, and get reimbursed for it, I always end up eating too much at lunch. Instead of just a salad I’ll end up getting mixed fruit also just because I can and it’s there. Or something else, be is dried fruit, extra nuts, a wheat roll, anything! So I think packing my food like I do when I’m at home will add a little bit more structure to my days. So it’s not so much as eating bad it’s eating too much of the good stuff.

How about you? Is there any healthy food that you sometimes over indulge in? Or are there any situations where you make less than perfect eating decisions? What are you doing to fix it?

Categories: Food

Tags: , , , ,

3 replies

  1. Looks like good food! We are recently experimenting with coconut milk and almond flour in my blog! I’m a amateur blogger about food too! Swing by my blog and let me know what you think! Thanks!
    http://www.amandamsherman.wordpress.com

  2. Preparing your meals ahead of time is definitely the way to go to keep you on the healthy path. Otherwise, too many distractions out there in terms of the bad stuff. Glad you had a Whole Foods nearby! 🙂

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

