Mushroom & Lentil Soup Recipe


I’ve been playing with this recipe a bit and I think I’ve found a perfect harmony!

Ingredients:

1 lb bag Lentils
2 tbls Light Olive Oil
2 tsp Kosher Salt
2 quarts Broth (chicken or vegetable)
2 cups chopped Carrotts
1/2 medium-large red onion (or white)
8 oz can of mushrooms (or fresh! ~ 1.5 cups)
Cumin
Pepper
Fresh Rosemary
Minced Garlic
3 Bay Leafs

Directions:

Place the olive oil into a large pot and set over medium heat. Once hot add the onions, carrots, mushrooms and salt. Sweat until the onions are translucent, about 6-8 minutes. Add in a scoop of minced garlic when this is about half way done. (You don’t want to put it in at the start and risk burning the garlic)

Strip rosemary sprigs until you have a healthy hand ful (I think I had about a half of a cup). Add in the lentils, broth, cumin (I did about 4 shakes? Do as much as you like!), a few grinds of a fresh pepper mill, rosemary and bay leafs. Bring just to a boil, reduce heat to low and put on a lid on for about about 35-40 minutes.

Using an immersion blender (or not your call!!) blend the soup to whatever consistency you prefer.

This will make 6 healthy servings, about 1.5-2 cups each. I don’t normally measure I just fill up 6 equal sized tupperware containers.

Another thing that you can do is shred up chicken or cut up some turkey meatballs if you want to make this a meat dish. I usually just add any meat I want to put when I’m reheating so you can have one meatball, one chicken & one vegetarian! The possibilities are endless. I hope you enjoy!

For those of you that care for the nutrition (6 servings):

Calories: 175
Total Fat: 5 g
Saturated: <1 g
Sodium: 1500 mg
Potassium: 430 mg
Total Carbs: 23 g
Dietary Fiber: 8 g
Sugars 3 g
Protein 11 g

Vitamin A 102.8 %
Vitamin B-12 0.0 %
Vitamin B-6 10.2 %
Vitamin C 7.1 %
Vitamin D 0.0 %
Vitamin E 1.4 %
Calcium 3.0 %
Copper 10.7 %
Folate 36.6 %
Iron 17.8 %
Magnesium 8.3 %
Manganese 22.3 %
Niacin 6.2 %
Pantothenic Acid 6.1 %
Phosphorus 15.4 %
Riboflavin 4.8 %
Selenium 3.2 %
Thiamin 10.6 %
Zinc 7.2 %

Yes I used a recipe calculator I did not do this all by hand : )

Happy Sunday!!!

Categories: Food

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 replies

Trackbacks

  1. Turn that frown upside down | Food & Fitness
  2. One Year Blogaversary – Part I « Food & Fitness

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

