Favorite “On The Road” Food


The burn from the Tough Mudder work out is finally setting in, oye. Decided to eat dinner instead of going to the gym after work. Thinking about going later tonight depending how I’m feeling (I am 100% in the morning which is why tonight is up in the air, I’m not slacking yet I promise!), but I did want to share the fantastic food I had today : )

While I didn’t make anything at home I do know how to make this lunch so I wanted to share it! I got an arugula salad with craisons and sliced almonds (self explanatory how to make) and tofu spring rolls! Spring rolls is one of my new favorite things so here we go!

Rice Paper Rolls:
Dried Rice Vermicelli Noodles
Rice Paper
Cabbage
Carrots
Fresh Cilantro
Cucumber
Tofu/shrimp/whatever protein you choose or none!

Soak rice noodles in boiling water for 5 minutes. Shred or slice your veggies. Soak your rice paper in warm water for about 15 seconds. Lay the rice paper out and lay the contents of your roll in the lower edge of the rice paper. Fold the bottom edge of the rice paper over the filling. Fold in the side edges and roll up to form the roll!

These go great with peanut sauces or sweet and sour. Go ahead and pick your favorite! Also feel free to make any sort of “dressing” for the rice noodles and filling. Rice vinegar and garlic is a quick and easy go to to toss the veggies and rice noodles in.

This baby was delicious! Pan seared scallops with roasted zucchini, tomatos, pine nuts, pasta and pesto. It was a bit more oily than I cared for so I just ate the scallops (without letting them drop to the bottom of the plate where the oil was) all the veggies and only a fork or 2 of the pasta. I was VERY proud of myself for showing some self control. I have always been a clean plate club member but I am trying to retrain myself to eat until I’m full and just walk away.

Happy Friday : )

Categories: Food

Tags: , , ,

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

